Nemo me impune lacessit

No one provokes me with impunity


No Title of Nobility shall be granted by the United States: And no Person holding any Office of Profit or Trust under them, shall, without the Consent of the Congress, accept of any present, Emolument, Office, or Title, of any kind whatever, from any King, Prince, or foreign State.

Article 1, Section 9, Constitution of the United States

If this is the law of the land...why in a republic (little r) and as republicans, do we allow mere POLITICIANS to the right to use a "title of office" for the rest of their lives as if it were de facto a patent of nobility. Because, as republicans, this should NOT be the case...just saying...

The Vail Spot's Amazon Store

Wednesday, December 01, 2010

GOP 8 Who Voted Against Emark Ban In US Senate

Here are the GOP 8 who voted against banning earmarks in the US Senate: 
Sens. Thad Cochran (Miss.), Susan Collins (Maine), James Inhofe (Okla.), Dick Lugar (Ind.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska) and Richard Shelby (Ala.) voted against an amendment to food-safety legislation that would have enacted a two-year ban on the spending items. Retiring Sen. George Voinovich (Ohio) and defeated Sen. Bob Bennett (Utah) also voted against it.

Two can't be held accountable for those votes.  But six can be.  I suspect that they will be defeated by Tea Party movement candidates who will rightly point to this vote as to why they are unfit to serve in the US Senate.  The attempt to ban earmarks for the entire Senate failed by a vote of 39-56.  

Mrs. Murkowski of Alaska lost her GOP primary and seems to be winning the write in vote...and is still considered to be a Republican?  She, having flouted the will of her party's voters in the primary, should be tossed out of the GOP in the Senate.  She should lose her seniority and have to start all over again...

Susan Collins of Maine, Thad Cochran (Miss.) and  Richard Shelby (Ala.) aren't up for reelection until 2014...I guess she hopes  that her state doesn't have a long memory.   James Inhofe (Okla.) and Dick Lugar (Ind.) are up for reelection in 2012, of course, there's Murkowski who, if she wins this time around will be back up for reelection 2016, which time I hope the state of Alaska kicks her corrupt ass out of office.

No comments: